Iraq

Hi i recently started driving tankers for a living and heard of 2 chaps shipping out to Iraq for 12 months. Does anyone have any info?

Try the Taliban website , you greedy git

Thats not very nice is it? 2 Years out there from what ive heard will set you up for life. Just need any details if anyone has got any?

You should go and do proper research! Two years out there will definitely not “set you up for life”.

Here’s a link to the main sub-contractor recruiting out there.

www.kbr.com

I have a brother in law who worked out there (Iraq) for 12 months as a driver. He did all sorts of work. All of it was highly dangerous with a risk of being seriously injured or killed every day. He encountered many serious incidents including witnessing the maiming and deaths of others
The average wage out there is 40k to 50k for 12 months work. It’s long hours every day - 7 days a week!
These wages are very poor when you consider the life threatening driving duties you’ll be carrying out on a daily basis, and they’re set to drop due to the amount of Far Eastern drivers who are prepared to do it a lot cheaper.

The number of drivers from the USA doing the job is dropping rapidly due to the fact they cant get any medical insurance from companies back home. That tells you everything!

My brother in law couldn’t wait to get home! Thankfully he got home in one piece - quite literally!

Thanks appreciate the feedback

The ‘good earners’ are nearly all gone now. In the Basra area the transport (for the security forces, etc) is done by a company called Kuwait Transport from (funnily enough) Kuwait!!