invest

I am in the unusual (for me) position of having some spare cash which is currently earning 3% at the bank (barely covering inflation). As an agency driver I see various businesses and can pry to see how well they are faring. Should I buy some Stobart Group shares? At 92.5p they yield 6.4% and the company is valued at 10.4 times the its earnings (p/e). I would welcome any opinions or alternative suggestions.

Any reason you want to invest in Stobart rather than something totaly unrelated to transport?

Stobart were offering 5% interest on a 5 year bond, i use the Dutch bank Ing Direct of which has been sold to Barclays Uk, which will now offer more protection if it fails.
For having kids, Hanley Econmomical Building Soceity had 5 % interest on child trust bonds,if have a look on Money Supermarket.co.uk.

Any reason you want to invest in Stobart rather than something which will turn a profit?

Montmerency:
Any reason you want to invest in Stobart rather than something which will turn a profit?

No, I suppose Its best to invest in a company/industry of which you have some knowledge. I suppose that I could go for one of the supermarkets, having delivered to all of them and having seen that some are happier and more efficient than others. Or builders merchants ( I also do hiab work). But you’re right, the object is to turn a profit.

It’s never a good idea to buy shares of any description when small investors are piling into them with the enthusiasm that they are now, the market is manipulated by a small pool of large players who lure in the excitable before selling off their own shares en masse, spooking the market and then buying back after the correction, many sensible forecasters are predicting a 20% fall in 2013. Plenty of people got burned buying gold over the last 18 months or so, looks like it’s the turn of shares.

Euro:

Montmerency: