I'm a new driver. Need help please :)

First I’d like to say im only 20 and I have my full class 2 (will be going for class one soon), all I ever wanted to do was be a driver, I start my first job next Monday.
The job I start is starting me in a 7.5 tonne and ill work my way up when I feel confident.
I just need some advice please, like what’s the best way to make my deliveries on time etc and how can I make sure I keep to my driving hours etc?

I don’t really know to many roads of the top of my head I tend to rely on my sat nav until I get used to a bigger vehicle and get used to the roads better.

Any advise on the above or how I can keep myself safer would be appreciated.

You’ll struggle the first few weeks getting deliveries off thinking how am i ment tae do all this. But you learn runs, you learn the best times to go to different customers. Always do 15 then a 30 in regards to breaks it will always give you more flexibility in regards to both wtd and driving time. Tipping on card is commen place to get things done. I do it myself when required but i always make up the break on my way back the depot.

Give your truck a good pui every morning learn all its niggles and if possible always take the truck into the garage yourself so defects don’t linger.

Dont mind about the sat nav as you can get out of a lot of trouble with a 7.5 tonner, i used to use the sat nav everyday couldn’t see maself without it but i never use it now. If i get a new drop i have a swatch on google maps and off i go.

Be confident with your driving not arrogant. Trucknet is only a thread away if you have a problem it has helped me many a time.

And finally enjoy yourself drive, plenty of pretty girls with low cut tops and short skirts kicking about to keep you amused :grimacing:

Welcome anyway Ryan :slight_smile: