I am not a truck driver!

having spent a considerable amount of time in the uk recently i have come to the conclusion that until truck drivers start to behave better then i don’t want to be labelled as truck driver.
truck driver has now become my profession - it’s what i do for a living - to earn money and it isn’t who i am - i am a respectable human being, i use a proper toilet, i shower daily and wash my hands after visiting the loo, after tipping or loading at a customers premesis i seek out the sink to clean up a bit before climbing back behind the wheel of my truck.
i have recently met some drivers that carry out the same job as me but they are unclean and have some very disgusting habits - like urinating over the wheels of the trailer or tractor unit just a few hundred yards from a proper toilet, drivers who get out of a truck to greet a customers agent and they already have dirty hands - not just a bit of dirt but they resemble car mechanics hands after a breakdown or engine rebuild.
there is no need to be like this, there are toilets and sinks at most places we deliver and collect to and from, there are plenty of service areas scattered around the motorway networks with the exception of the m25 of course.

so from now on i am a human being - a father - a husband - i am not a truck driver - thats just a job title.

Yes, I’m the same…

Spend half the day cleaning steering wheel, gear stick, and hand brake lever with cleanwipes… which reminds me :laughing:

johnny:
…and wash my hands after visiting the loo…

Not just limited to this job. The number of ‘suits’ you see never going near the sink is amazing. Straight out of the trap, often while still zipping and buckling up, and straight out the door. Then you see them in the shop buying sandwiches, crisps or sweets. :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: