How many days Holiday

Hi guys this topic maybe already covered,I seem to be having issues with my employer only offering me 23 days holiday including bank holiday. I work usually 4 shifts per week, starting from 2am to 4 am in the morning. Days vary. I average 48hrs per week sometime go over WTD. Could you please clarify my holiday entitlement i leagally il thought 28 days statutory. I am new to this company and this is in the contract.

If you work 4 days a week your statutory leave entitlement is 22.4 days (which can include bank holidays).

gov.uk/calculate-your-holiday-entitlement/y

Sent using smoke and mirrors

Ok thankyou for you reply.

Yep its 28 days pro-rata. Easier to think of it as 5.6 weeks so if you normally work a 4 day week then you get 5.6 x 4 days.

FYI given you say you average 48hrs, there was a court case a few years ago where it was ruled that when overtime isn’t voluntary then it must be included when calculating holiday pay. Usually overtime doesn’t get included and holiday pay is calculated on basic hours only but I doubt there are many lorry drivers who can say that they don’t want to do any overtime that day and they’re going to park up when they hit 8hrs halfway back to the yard.

Sounds like you have a fractional contract. You work 0.8 days so your holiday entitlement is 28 x 0.8 which is about 22 and a half.

Well some week i work up to 55hrs and next week could be 48 also could be 55 again. Thay seem to be pushing me and other drivers to the max as we are salary.

We also tramp out at least one night a week. Does this change my holiday entitlement?

dennybnbn:
We also tramp out at least one night a week. Does this change my holiday entitlement?

In a word - “No”.

Thanks roymondo much appreciated :slight_smile: