Help on which tacho mode to use?

Hi lads as a tanker driver I spend a bit of time waiting in line to load. Sometimes could be 2 or 3 trucks in front of me each taking 20/30 min to load.

At times I try take my 15/30 mines rest if i require it to stay legal driving time.

Was asking some of the other lads what mode they have the taco if they don’t require 15/45min. Some lads use rest all the time, others period of availability and some use other work.

What mode should it be on when waiting to load?

As you know the timescale I would say POA, but if a break was needed to help myself out I would use break. Other work is acceptable too as you will no doubt be in the traps raring to go.

Sounds like one of those situations its “Our” choice and whichever suits us the best, although ‘break’ is probably the naughtiest of the 3.

That the way I go, rest if I require 15/30 min but other than that I use PAO to keep my wtd hours down

It seems straight forward to me your eating to load you’re in a queue you should be on other work

If you get paid when on break put it on break, if not use POA. But as stated above any can be used and if you can’t decide use a different one each day, or play tacho lotto and hit the button a number of times and see what mode its on !!

I’d leave it on “Other Work”, but you could, if you needed to keep your hours down, book some POA.

Can’t disagree, no option is wrong here use whichever one suits your requirements the best and could be explained if called upon to do so. The tacho is not always the enemy, use it to suit your requirements when the option arises.

Course if your not paid for breaks then no way put it on a break :slight_smile:

If the expected delay is usually 30 mins and that’s how long you expect to wait, then the first 30 mins would be POA, anything after that would be other work.

If you were waiting for two in front of you then the expected delay might be 60 mins as POA, after that it would be other work and so on.