Have you ever worked on Christmas Day?

In previous lives I have worked on Christmas Day, I was a chef for a few years after I left school, then a taxi driver but I have also had Christmas Day in the truck, I did 700km on Christmas Day one year in the 1990s, although it was just a normal working day where I was.

Anyone else worked Christmas Day?

I’ve worked lunch time behind the bar at my local clubover 25 yrs ago that was good fun as I got half cut for free then went home to Xmas dinner, done that about 3 Xmas’s on the trot .

Yes quite a few times driving coaches. 3 trips to Lourdes, one skiing and one when I worked in London. I’ve only ever worked one Christmas in the truck, my first Christmas for Virginia and I spent the day in a closed Spanish truckstop. To be honest far and away one of the most depressing days of my life and since then I always go home to my parents for Christmas. It was double trip money back then so for that one 9 day trip I earned about £2000 but won’t be doing it again.

yep, when i was doing recovery work i worked Christmas so i could have new year off. had one job on Christmas eve which ended up dropping off 5 minutes away from a good friend. several hours, many cups of tea and a bucket full of mince pies we realised it was half 2 in the morning and i went home. no work on the actual day tho.

Never worked it but have been asked to . The offer was a day in lieu and an extra 80 quid :confused:

Guess my reply :laughing: :laughing:

Back in '97 I worked as a labourer helping to repaint the footbridge on Ipswich station. Did 6am - 6pm Christmas day and boxing day and got £20 hr after tax. Did a short Saturday night a couple of weeks later and pocketed £535 for the whole job.

Wouldn’t do it now but I was just about to get married and was renovating my first house so the money was unreal. Plus missus was working nights in the Police so still had a couple of hours together.