Hargreaves/ Stobarts

I have been a night trunk driver for nearly ten years and I see that both these companies are recruiting for tipper drivers and walking floor drivers . I fancy a complete change any views that are constructive regarding earnings and this type of work would be very useful .An I have been a class 1 28 years so please I can drive I am just very interested in what they do.

Observations would suggest that if you’re not one of these highly aggressive drivers who like the go everywhere on the limiter, drive a truck as they would a car and become very angry with any other road user who is going slowe than they would like to, then Hargreaves is not the job for you. Morons, each and every one of them.

I was flat out on cruise control on the A1 southbound about 5 miles north of M62 split last week, exactly 56mph, within about 3 minutes, a dot in my mirrors caught me up and passed me like I was doing about 45mph, and off he went into the distance.
All this time he was in the middle lane, this was a Hargreaves motor.

Cowboy.

Done a week on Stobarts walking floors last week. Back again on Monday for more, first impressions:

If you like to work a full day, this isn’t the job for you. I spent a lot of time on POA and often got to drops just after they closed so lost 3-4 hours of my day.

Its not really clean work. I did two loads of recyleable plastics, two loads of municpal waste and a load of waste wood. Only the waste wood was ‘clean’. Also I had to get in with the bin juice and a pressure washer to clean the trailer out for a load of Haribo but all jobs have their dangers.

As an agy driver I got the abbreviated 4 hour training. We ended up taking six hours but I didn’t feel short changed.

Getting in the truck (63 plate Scania R440 6x2 tag) and finding a gearstick was a shock! I got over it.

The planners actually seem human, I must have been mistaken.

If you do go for it, B&Q sell toecapped wellies for about £20.

Olog Hai: