Hanging up your keys?

It’s been over a year since I drove an artic, and in truth I personally don’t miss any of it. My son is almost 6 now and I am happy to say it has been great watching him grow up, I missed the early years nothing I can do about that now.

Be it the working hours required, working conditions, disruption to family life, foreign drivers, stress of our roads, and the fact the pay is sometimes insulting, it seems to me more and more of our professional drivers are on the look out for something else.

For whatever reason how many of you would consider hanging up your keys for good.

Tomorrow, If the situation allowed.
Driving now for over27 years
Started after leaving the army, because it did have the comradeship, when we used to use dig’s and have a chat and drink at night. And some respect.
Now :confused: Well times have changed.
I am still a trucker at heart, but have been lucky to have tried other things, but always come back to trucking.
Why :question: I do not know.
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Not me, I don’t work full time or for just one company, normally I just do a few days a week which is enough to pay the bills & keep me busy, but I would miss the variety & life if I ever had to give up.
The weeks where I do work long hours & all week it’s from a choice I have made to do so, so no complaints from me about long hours.

I have been driving for about 2 1/2 years now and would hang up my keys yesterday if I could find a job for the same money, be it in a factory or whatever.

I am lucky in that I am a local shunter and do get home every night and get paid the same as the trampers less the night out money.

I enjoyed the job for the first year but no longer look forward to going to work.
Have had 3 different jobs since I started and the one I have now is the best in terms of hours and pay but I do have to drive an old dog.

Its just a job for me and not a way of life and as soon as some thing better turns up I will hang up those keys.