Grab Tippers

My boss is seriously considering buying a 6w grab tipper and has asked me if I’m interested in doing the grab/hiab course for it. Firm’s never run a grab wagon before and it looks like we’ll be axing our standard 6w that’s starting to become a money pit.
Any thoughts on courses, type/make of crane and grab to get and type to avoid?
I’ve never used a grab before but it doesn’t bother me as I can drive plant.

Would you bother with a course? Knowing your outfit, I can’t see the point, unless you are going to be grabbing from places that require you prove your “credentials” before loading…

Using a hiab/grab is no harder than any other plant really, you’ll pick it up quick enough. Common sense stuff really.

I loved my Palfinger PK1000. Had enough oomph and with enough length to do most jobs without much bother.

Muckaway:
My boss is seriously considering buying a 6w grab tipper and has asked me if I’m interested in doing the grab/hiab course for it. Firm’s never run a grab wagon before and it looks like we’ll be axing our standard 6w that’s starting to become a money pit.
Any thoughts on courses, type/make of crane and grab to get and type to avoid?
I’ve never used a grab before but it doesn’t bother me as I can drive plant.

Don"t drive across a lawn and you will ok :wink:

F-reds:
Would you bother with a course? Knowing your outfit,…

I don’t work for the outfit in my avatar. :wink:
We’d work 90% of the time for small builders, landscape gardeners who wouldn’t ask but we do get on the large estates nearby like Blenheim Palace, who may ask. I didn’t know whether insurance companies might specify any qualifications. I gather the crane has to be specially insured and inspected as a lifting device?

F-reds:
Would you bother with a course? Knowing your outfit, I can’t see the point, unless you are going to be grabbing from places that require you prove your “credentials” before loading…