Going on first job on Monday need help please

Got a 2 week trial at a haulage firm. They know I am not experienced in haulage, but didn’t explain to me how to secure pallets inside the curtainsider, they just said use straps inside curtainsider and ask others to explain how to use them. But I think at 4am nobody will be willing to dedicate their time to explain, so I am concerned as I will be fined by DVSA if I don’t do it properly.

Does anyone have a link to a video/s or photos of how it’s meant to be done?

Cheers

Thanks, I had a look. I know how to use a ratchet. I don’t know how to secure a pallet within a curtainsider. They are just hanging inside a wagon, where do I pin them to?

romik:
Thanks, I had a look. I know how to use a ratchet. I don’t know how to secure a pallet within a curtainsider. They are just hanging inside a wagon, where do I pin them to?

Sorry I misread your post.

Most curtain-siders will have anchorage points on the bed, they’re usually steel hoops, if you can’t use them anchor the straps onto the chassis if possible.

Thank you. I just noticed that my 1st wagon is a box, thank God for that :slight_smile: need to learn quickly

Not being funny, but, why the hell don’t they send you out with someone for a couple of days. You’ve told them that you have no experience & they’re going to let you loose in a wagon with potentially, a high value load & expect you to get it to its destination in one piece (& with your sanity intact as well at the end of the day)
It’s not the same company that Contraflow posted about, is it ? (About the walk round check)

martinviking:
Not being funny, but, why the hell don’t they send you out with someone for a couple of days. You’ve told them that you have no experience & they’re going to let you loose in a wagon with potentially, a high value load & expect you to get it to its destination in one piece (& with your sanity intact as well at the end of the day)