GB Domestic Rules max 11 hour duty time?

Just come across this from the .gov website -

“You must not be on duty for more than 11 hours in any working day.”

And then -

“If you work as a driver for a company, duty time is any working time.”

So, because driving is counted as working time as well, I’m reading this as that I’m breaking the domestic rules pretty much every single working day? Driving time + other work = working time, and this is nearly always > 11 hours.

I’m sure I’m missing something obvious… What is it?

Domestic hours don’t apply to a lot of us.

What are you driving?

I’m a regular artic driver, employed by a company, I’ve just always been under the assumption that both EU AND domestic rules apply to us, but as the EU ones tend to be stricter, they’re the only ones to really worry about?

Nope if you’re on normal HGV haulage then EU regs apply, but if you’re have an exemption from EU Drivers Hours regs then Domestic Regs apply.

At least as I understand it. :wink:

Yes in general taken at face value and used accordingly Domestic rules mean/meant more sleep between shifts more driving time to get where you’re going at decent speeds and more time for breaks without the guvnor knowing.

But who wants that when you can have the idea of plodding French speed limits and ■■■■ type spy in ze cab tachos telling you to drive when you feel like a break and driving time limits telling you to park up when you could be driving and 15 hour days with possibly less than 6 hours sleep between shifts.All pushed by those saying how lucky we are to be in the EU. :unamused:

Javiatrix:
I’m a regular artic driver, employed by a company, I’ve just always been under the assumption that both EU AND domestic rules apply to us, but as the EU ones tend to be stricter, they’re the only ones to really worry about?

EU rules supersede GB domestic rules. The vast majority of vehicles over 3.5t come under the EU rules. There are of course some exemptions.