Full Time Job to Full time Agency (is it worth it)

Hiyas i currently work in the private sector on class 2’s on council highways, but drive weekend mainly stobarts ,been driving ce since sept last year and want to go full time employed by a blue chip company so to speak, but has anyone taken the plunge as to leaving there full time job (iv been working for my current employers near on 16yr since i left school) and gone to an agency working permanantly and ended up employed by a firm, what i want to know is 1) has anyone done this and 2) was it worth it? and 3) do many agencies do temp to perm roles ,any advice or experiances would be great. may i add i am desperate to get behind the wheel permanantly and looking at any options to get more experiance

cheers folks

temp to perms are common. a lot of employers do this so they can see a driver in action rather than relying on an interview. having said that, i got a temp to perm based on an interview and had never been to the place before. its an easy way to recruit new staff

Are you employed by the council or by a contractor working on behalf of the council■■?

If employed by the council, I’d stay there if I were you, you will be on far better T&C’s than you will get at any transport company in my opinion, will have a decent pension and job security.

■■■■■■ if I’d leave your job for it mate.

I’ve done temp - perm which was a good way for me to decide I didn’t want the job permanent, would’ve worked well for the employer too if I didn’t decide first.

Couple of days after notifying the agency, I was replaced by someone else on the temp - perm position, as expected really, they wanted someone permanent and I didn’t want it, so find someone that does.

It’s as good as the gvt’s ‘job trial’ scheme they force the doley bums onto but with a better (a real) rate of pay.