Fuck me they now want us too be firemen

Turned up too work too be presented with a few items they now want putting in cab , one being a fire extinguisher :exclamation: :unamused: what do I want that for :question: , fairly obvious if truck catches on fire it will help you extinguish it :unamused: , I’m a bloody driver not a fireman :unamused: , you keep the bloody thing and I’ll ring up fire brigade / you from a safe distance away :exclamation: :exclamation: :exclamation: you’re not even prepared too try and put the fire out :question: , no it’s not my job and I’m not putting my health and safety at risk for a scabby old daf :exclamation: .
how much training do firemen do too do there job :question: , yet they expect too chuck us a fire extingusher and put the fire out with no training , jobs gone too bloody pot :unamused: :smiling_imp:

Those little extinguishers that come from diy shops are useless for fighting a vehicle fire. I reckon you might knock out a wheel fire, but that’s about it. Unless a load of you come across a burning car, all armed with extinguishers, then your chances of rescuing someone are still pretty low.

Can be useful to be honest.

Many years ago I worked at Shepherds distribution based in Sheffield and was going through Tintwistle near the houses not going very fast as there were loads of traffic as normal at that time of the day. I noticed in my nearside mirror some smoke coming up from somewhere. Initially I though it was a coal fire from a house then I noticed a flame from the back of the cab. I looked and thought about it and dithered, then realised :open_mouth: :open_mouth: ■■■■