flashy trucks?

in my extensive 4 month career as a class 2 driver, i cant help but to notice that the flashier the truck, the crapper the wages.

i worked for a local haulier near cardiff and let me tell you, the loverly new trucks are kept immaculate by their drivers inside and out. Painted tyres, polished tanks etc. (i even saw one guy polish the footmat in his volvo).

the guys found time to do this whilst sitting in the yard all day on POA waiting to get a load. There was great competition (or arselicking to be precice) to get the furthest load so as to gain a milage and night out bonus to top up the £250 (class 2) basic wage per week.

yet, another local company is paying a £355 basic week with other bonuses on top driving muddy wagons.

is this the way of the industry?

do people really enjoy polising their bosses trucks in their own time?

did i do my cat C licence to drive for £5.00 per hour then polish my bosses fuel tanks in my own time? :open_mouth:

Welcome to the wonderful world of Road Haulage… :wink:

On the other hand would you tidy your bedroom everyday :slight_smile: I no that a big shiny truck dosen’t put food on the Table but these guys dont no any better :smiley:

I think you’ll find it quite common, (although not every haulier with flash kit will be like this)

I like to keep my truck clean and tidy, but I don’t really care to much about what I drive as long as it’s legal and tidy and I have little interest in having loads of lights and other bling.
It’s just there are some drivers who will work for lower wages if it means they get a top of the range truck with loads of lights etc.
Am I going to slag them off? Nop it’s upto them, they love thier trucks, love their job and who am I to say that’s wrong, just not my style.

spanker:
yet, another local company is paying a £355 basic week with other bonuses on top driving muddy wagons.