First time in an artic

I have just been told that our artic drivers is off on the second week of March and I’m standing in for him.

I’m fine driving it, but I am a total bag of nerves, in fact I break out in a cold sweat when I think about reversing it.

the driving test reverse was a piece of cake, but when I think about reversing onto a bay next to something, or God forbid a blindside reverse.

is it normal to feel this apprehensive the first time you get into a bendy by yourself?

Yes mate. Don’t worry, when it comes to the crunch, you will manage it.

Yeah it’s normal, but have faith in your abilities. After a few reverses you’ll stop worrying and over thinking mate!

eagerbeaver:
Yes mate. Don’t worry, when it comes to the crunch, you will manage it.

What, the crunch? :open_mouth:

It’s perfectly normal pal, I too was very apprehensive about reversing in the real world.
I’ll be criticised for giving an opinion as I’m also a Newbie, but setting up for the reverse is the most import part, and can be the difference between a nightmare and piece of ■■■■.

Alternatively just use the force, all 44t of it! :laughing:

Best of luck pal! :smiley:

Haha, trust you Evil to pick up on my subtle ■■■■ taking!

thanks for the votes of confidence. you’re exactly right, I’m overthinking it. since I’ve found out I’m standing in for the regular driver I’ve been doing reverses in my head all day, which way to turn the wheel, which way the trailer will move, what I will see in the mirrors etc. God I need to get a life :slight_smile:

On a more serious note Jbaz, make sure your windows are spotless inside and out, and that your mirrors are also clean. Make’s a massive difference mate, and will help your confidence no end. In and out of the cab as many times as you want, object of the exercise is to complete the reverse with no damage, and more importantly no one hurt.