firefox

I’ve been using firefox (and it’s mozilla predecessor) for several months now.
I find it far superior to explorer.

Similar to some earlier posters, I too was struggling to download plug-ins etc until recently.I found it annoying but still preferred firefox overall.Then by trial and error I stumbled across the solution.

Go to ‘Tools’
Then ‘Options’
Then ’ Web features’

Then tick the box ‘Allow websites to install software’

This is usually unticked as a default setting

Just use this setting to enable you to download the required plug-in.

Afterwards go back into Tools,Options,Web Features and uncheck the box so
you don’t allow this facility permanently.

This’ll stop any dodgy site installing any nasty software without your knowledge.

Alot of ‘Adult’ sites do this but I’m sure none of you look at such material :wink: (at least while the other half’s there) :smiley:

Shep

Hello all

IE no longer supports gopher sites which is a shame as Firefox does, so that’s another arrow to its bow. I still prefer IE for general surfing though as no matter the bad publicity for the security holes I have stil to meet someone who has been affected, maybe someone on here has or is it just a case of ‘heard it’s bad so it must be’.

Dean

Coffeeholic:
Yep, I’ve been using it since the day it was released and I like it, the tabbed browsing is good and it is a good bit faster than IE.

My brother has been using it as well and his only issue is that he can’t do his internet banking with it, his bank don’t like it it appears, I have had no problems using it on any bank/credit card site.

That is my only worry too, I got a warning from my bank about using different browsers, Is this some sort of con with Bill Gates.

“I will put my money in your bank, if you put this warning on your website”

If I download Firefox, can I go back to Ie later if it doesnt work?

Coffee, can you give me your brothers sort code, account number and pin number so I can check :smiley: Thanks