Fatigue and tiredness

Hi all just a wee quick question to see what view you 's have on this matter. I work as a double manned trunk driver and today the new start ( only second week ) went and said to the gaffer that he was absolutely shattered and fatigued so he said rather than put his own life in danger that he was going home as he wasn’t fit enough for the shift tonight and the company paid him off straight away. In my opinion he was well within his rights to say he need to go home. Due to the fact he could cause a accident or even death ourselves as well as other road users.
long hours and 9 rest periods 5 days a week is a ball buster. Im here 4/5 month and starting to feel effects of fatigue and tiredness alot. Is it not that the driver’s have a duty of due care and attention to make these decisions rather than company only thinking of earn the £££££

what do you’s think on this matter.

Companies only see £££.

Don’t i know it mate. Their moto is drivers are ten a penny. What a way to reward your work force for dedicating there entire life doing 15hr shifts then ■■■■ them over. Not good lol do you know any decent company’s in Scotland to work for?

Long duties and only 9hrs off, and you’re travelling home during those 9hrs off, you need your bumps feeling mate.

It’s possible for very short terms, but long term, back at base = 11hrs off.

You could both try sleeping whilst the other is driving, but I know that’s difficult to get into a position of trust, and for the other to shut the ■■■■ up :laughing:

There is no easy answer, the body requires a certain amount of sleep - deep sleep not hours in bed - and there is no alternative, when too tired it will just shut itself down.