Easy or Hard

So, in a response to something mentioned in a recent post about the job of a driver is getting harder!
Whats changed to make it harder?
Ive been doing the job for 24 years now and IMHO it seems to me that it has actualy got easier.
I am a tramper on containers, most of the time starting sunday pm and finishing early friday pm, doing all the major ports and going all over England and Wales.
Only port I have a problem with is Seaforth.

weeto:
So, in a response to something mentioned in a recent post about the job of a driver is getting harder!
Whats changed to make it harder?
Ive been doing the job for 24 years now and IMHO it seems to me that it has actualy got easier.
I am a tramper on containers, most of the time starting sunday pm and finishing early friday pm, doing all the major ports and going all over England and Wales.
Only port I have a problem with is Seaforth.

Any Pentalver for me lol.

I think the vehicles are much better, bags of power, comfortable, decent headlights, auto boxes, abs and other electronic stabillity stuff, air suspension - both for the vehicles and for the cab.

BUT, there’s a hell of a lot of traffic on the road, I’ve seen it increase exponentially in the last 12yrs that I’ve drove for a living, and a hell of a lot of them are complete mindless numpties.
Then you’ve got the fact we’ve got mobile phones, trackers, and other pieces of equipment that mean we’re no longer out on the road away from the bosses, which includes tighter schedules.

Containers is probably the 1 job that’s a piece of ■■■■ (mostly) in this industry, I’ve done quite a variety and it’s not 1 to set a scale by really IMHO.

I’ve never done roping and sheeting, but it still goes on, got mates who work for companies like R Swain and David Bratt and Chris Bennett who do all the flat bed type work, so can’t see how that’s any easier than it’s ever been.