Drugs and driving?

Hi all I work as a class 2 driver for quite a big company ive only been working there about 6 months and its my first driving job… and to be honest im quite shocked at the amount of drivers that smoke weed or do coke granted not many do it during work time but a few do. Anyway I stopped smoking weed about a year ago when I decided I wanted to go into driving for a living as I thought if I was to ever get drug tested I could lose my licence… there are talks at work and the union are saying that the company are going to start doing alcohol and drugs testing what are the consequences of testing positive ? I mean does it go onto any permanent record or is it a case of you just get sacked and go and try to find another job ? Thanks folks

Firm i work for recently sacked four drivers who failed a drugs test. As far as i know thats as far as it goes i dont think they inform the police or dvla.
Obviously could be awkward it you want a reference.

As far as I’m aware, the result of company alcohol/drug testing is between the employee and the company and no-one else.

tachograph:
As far as I’m aware, the result of company alcohol/drug testing is between the employee and the company and no-one else.

That is correct

For the authorities to prosecute a driver they must catch them driving whilst under the influence

Not actually experienced it myself but I would think the same as above that it is between employer/employee. I don’t take any drugs, but I often wonder how an employee stands with weed, as I understand it stays in your system for sometime. So what would happen if someone went to Amsterdam on a stag do, smoked weed pretty much all weekend, then got drug tested at work a few days after arriving back?

Owe ok thanks for the replies I thought It would have been more serious than that I suppose this is why a lot of them ent that bothered if they get caught they’ll just look for another job