Drivers Passing Through Calais

Hello,

My name is Sean Parnell, I am a university student currently conducting research for a documentary about the impact of refugees in Europe.

I am wanting to speak to drivers who regularly pass through Calais, and talk to them about the impact that the refugees have on their journeys.

Please contact me here, or by email: s.parnell@my.westminster.ac.uk

It would be great to discuss with any drivers who have a first hand account of the situation, from a drivers perspective.

Many Thanks,

I was regularly using Calais until about October this year.

The Refugees as you call them, or illegal migrants as I call them, because genuine refugees would apply for asylum status once they reach a safe country, I believe France is a safe country, instead these people camp in Calais waiting to try and board a UK bound truck.

Every time you go to into Calais you are on alert not knowing what sort of problems or delays you face, but the biggest fear now everybody is aware and security has been stepped is their actions are becoming more desperate and they are getting more organised. You don’t really know what stunt they’re going to pull to stop a truck, it really is playing on my mind on my way in and what my actions will be if they block the road or if I should hit one of them on the way into the terminal.

In July I got caught in a large queue of trucks trying to get into the Eurotunnel terminal, It took 6 hours to get from the exit of the Autoroute to a train. Until I got into the terminal, some 4 hours, the truck were surrounded by illegals migrants, not small groups or individuals, but gangs of 20 or so at a time just walking up and down the queue trying to get into trucks, I could see them try mine several times. In these queues even if they did get into your truck or damage there is now way it would be sensible to get out and challenge them and there was absolutely no Police presence round the trucks to deter them.