Did your DCPC make you a better driver?

The drivers CPC was introduced (as far as I can make out) to somehow improve the quality and professionalism of drivers out on the road.

Without going down the route of “I have been doing this for ■■■ amount of years and I knew more than the instructor”, does anyone think they gained any real value out of this course, or has it improved their quality of driving, or level of professionalism?

Whilst holding both HGV and PSV licenses which I have just renewed, I am currently not driving for a living, so for me to do this dcpc would mean sacrificing a weeks holiday and around £300 of my own money to get this ‘card’.

As I say I am not driving commercially at the moment, but just wonder if others who have done it, feel it was money (or time) well spent, irrespective of the legal requirement to have it in future?

LIBERTY_GUY:
The drivers CPC was introduced (as far as I can make out) to somehow improve the quality and professionalism of drivers out on the road.

Without going down the route of “I have been doing this for ■■■ amount of years and I knew more than the instructor”, does anyone think they gained any real value out of this course, or has it improved their quality of driving, or level of professionalism?

Whilst holding both HGV and PSV licenses which I have just renewed, I am currently not driving for a living, so for me to do this dcpc would mean sacrificing a weeks holiday and around £300 of my own money to get this ‘card’.

As I say I am not driving commercially at the moment, but just wonder if others who have done it, feel it was money (or time) well spent, irrespective of the legal requirement to have it in future?

I actually got more out of the Driver awhereness course I did for doing 34 in a 30 :wink:

Learnt one or two nuggets of new stuff and reinforced a lot of what I should already know.