Crisis!

Im sorry guys, but Im going to have a rant now… But I would like feedback on my point.
I have been a truck driver now for a little over six months, having moved careers from Agriculture. I have met loads of you over my many years of work, both early on, and more recently as one of you. Im proud of what we ( collectively ) do, and I am proud to be considered as one of you. We are portrayed as devils who hold up the traffic, polute the environment, and in the case of Fuel tanker drivers - holding the country to ransome. Nobody - present company accepted, sees what we go through from the LOW wages, the LONG hours, the abuse from car drivers, and shocking facilities - both on the road, Service / rest areas and RDC’s.
We have to watch as our many hauliers diminish through often no fault of their own, Joseph Rice, Derek Linch the list goes on, and on.
Back to me. As I sit here writing this - at home I am reflecting on my career. I am a fully qualified HGV C+E driver whose career path has not lived up to expectations. I have a wealthy father in law who owns a quarry, and some trucks in Bulgaria. When I told him that I was unable to get a drop driving class 1 on Supermarket deliveries, or class 2 on general haulage he asked how many points I had on my licence. When I replied none and it was all about experience, he was astounded and asked me how I was to get experience. I nearly cried. Iv been asking this myself for weeks… So do I throw in the towel now - or do I sit it out and see what happens?

unfortunately, you are caught in the vicious circle, without experience, you cannot get a job, and without a job, you cannot get the experience

stick it out fella, there are companies out there that will give newbies a chance, mine is one of them, but there are no vacancies at the moment, these companies are unfrtunately, few and far between, but they are there

Norbert Dentrensangle (sp) is another that will give newbies a chance