Covid 19 shielding

hi
I work as class one driver for a supermarket, no problem happy enough working through the Corona virus problems??!!. Two days ago I received a letter from the NHS telling me to stay at home for three months ( I had my spleen removed years ago never been a problem). So took the letter into work and was told I had to do what the letter says, I was sent home fair enough I will get eighty percent of my pay , but I don’t want to sit at home I will take the risk ( I already have been).
Does anybody know the legal side of this if I want to go back now??.

Kinda shot yourself in the foot with that one. As a fellow supermarket driver I would have decided which way I wanted to play it, do I want 3 months off on 80% (100% for my lot) or do I want do keep working for 100% plus any OT that may be kicking around. The decision on that question would have given me the answer to either bin the letter or give to employer. You went ahead and gave it to your employer meaning they have a duty of care to follow the medical advice from the NHS letter and sign you off for 3 months. Trying to self certify yourself back to work in this climate is going to be nigh on impossible. Afraid to say you made your bed and you are going to have to lie in it for the next 3 months.

Yes,you made your bed,but hey,its not so bad is it ,I’m in the same situation,at least you’re protected from coronavirus, who knows what that could have done to you,I’m using the time for all those things I always wanted to do but never had the time…

Are you going to stay indoors (jail) for 3 months (could be extended until a vaccine is found in possibly 2+ years time) to protect your health but have virtually no normal life or are you going to choose to do other :question:

I’ve been off 5 weeks and rightly or wrongly I’m enjoying it, but only by trying to make the best of it, best I can.