Coupling up to a trailer

Now most of you know I’m new to this class 1 malarky and after 4 weeks in the job Id say I’m doing ok… but something has been bugging me! When I was taught to couple up to a trailer I was taught to reverse up to it leave a gap, get out and check if the trailer brake is on and check the height of the fifth wheel but I never see any others drivers this. Not just at stobarts but other company’s as well so I ask you is it something that is taught but in reality unnecessary? I always check the trailer brake cus that’s the way I was learned but I do get some funny looks sometimes…

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Keep doing things the way you do Berty and you’ll get it right every time . Those who give you funny looks usually end up with the trailer on it’s knees or rammed into the back of the cab in their haste . Dave

rigsby:
Keep doing things the way you do Berty and you’ll get it right every time . Those who give you funny looks usually end up with the trailer on it’s knees or rammed into the back of the cab in their haste . Dave

Cheers bud… A few of our units have damaged wind reflectors I assume caused by missing the pin?

Berty:

rigsby:

Cheers bud… A few of our units have damaged wind reflectors I assume caused by missing the pin?

My old boss recons the damage caused too the air deflector , back of cab , a-frame on my old truck wasn’t caused by agency driver running over pin , but by d/d hitting modified a - frame I had on my truck , was told too take all the load binders off it , and according too him he knew everything about everything so he must be right :unamused: .

As above keep doing it only takes a minute longer do it right saves a lot of ■■■■■■■■ at the end of the day :wink:

As you were Berty. You’re doing it correctly.

Most of the issues seem to be caused by people listening to all the bs about the trailer being at a higher level than the fifth wheel to stop it wiping a bit of grease off the fifth wheel. :unamused: