Cleaning Your Vehicle

I went for an interview for job last week, they said to me, that they pay their drivers a £25 a week bonus for washing/cleaning their vehicle each week. Now i was most shocked as it seems quite generous, and to recieve a bonus for something that I do anyway seems like a bargain.

The current place, stipulates vehicles must be cleaned inside and out as part of the job, but it gets a ■■■■ good ignoring by over half of the drivers, without consequences.

I get frustrated with those who don’t, because being a relief driver I know I will have to use their vehicle at some point, and know that it will involve getting mucky from leaning on it, or using the unwashed taillift, and that the cab will be full of empty plastic coffee cups, and ginsters wrappers. There will also be an ecosystem growing down by the gear lever and parking brake, and spuds on the footwell.

Personally I try to wash all vehicles I use for a decent period of time. Being a relief driver I can sometimes use 3 or 4 different vehicles in a day, so it isnt practical to clean them, and why should I cover for some elses laziness. But if im working with it for a while, I want a clean environment. And its just basic bit of trying to take pride in what im doing.

Unfortunately, most of our vehicles have been let go for so long, that some are beyond help outside, and no amount of scrubbing will make the cab a nice place to be.

My questions are these:

1. Do you wash your vehicle, inside and out, regularly? If so, or if not why?
  2. Do you get any kind of extra incentive for doing so from the company, monetary or otherwise?
  3. How would you motivate drivers to clean their vehicle, if you were a TM?
  1. Yes and yes. Outside because otherwise I can’t see out of it, and inside because otherwise I couldn’t bear to live in it. I don’t do polishing of any description, though.

2. If you do it, the Fleet Manager won’t mither you. If you don’t he will. And BOY can he mither.