change of career

hi folks
4 weeks ago i had to hand my notice in from my current job due to on-going health problems and hopefully whem im back to better health id like to start a career as an hgv driver.

ive been manufacturing kitchens and bedrooms for 20 yrs but the constant bending,twisting and lifting has played havoc with my back.i slipped 2 discs when i was 19 and after 2 ops over the years to try and get right im still have serious problems and am now back under a neurosurgeon to see whats gone wrong again.i suffer from a on and off trapped nerve due to scar tissue that had formed after the second op pressing on a nerve and it can cause extreme pain.ive been told the job i was doing will constantly agreivate it unless i change.i was told that after the second op but changing your career is easier said than done but if i dont do something about now ill never be right so ive no other choice but to start looking into doing something different and driving is something id considered before.

im 37 in march and will be looking to go from class b to c+e all at the same time and am living in hadfield,derbyshire and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction to some reputable training centres in or around my area?

has anyone had any experience here- stockporthgv.co.uk/

If you have been advised to change career so as not to aggravate a back injury,I’m not sure that driving a truck would be conducive to a quick recovery.I can’t imagine any truck driving job not having some element of physical exertion involved.What about driving a bus ?,after all it loads its self.

. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome zanzibar :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: .

has anyone had any experience here- stockporthgv.co.uk/

All the LGV TRAINING TIPS, including the Recommended LGV training schools that have been recommended by members, can be accessed by clicking on the link in my signature :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

im 37 in march