Career change

Hi guys,

New one to the forum. I currently work at an alternative education centre in Hampshire; teaching hard to reach young people English and Maths. I have a degree in philosophy (really bloody useful! :neutral_face: ) but, I’ve been looking at a career in logistics for a little while and done a bit of research on it. The pay seems far better than my current job and I am not too concerned about the training expense or difficulty (perhaps I am wrong, we will see :laughing: )

I’m married with two step children and I am wondering just exactly what the lifestyle of a UK trucker entails. I know I may be away from home for some time, what’s it actually like? Is it stressful on couples,even if I just work within the UK?

A major concern of mine is that I will get bored, mainly because driving for me at the moment is simply A - B and has been for many years: the same road day in day out.

Have you got any advice for a guy looking to start trucking?

Thanks!

Can be stressful for couples, on general haulage no set start & finishing times, nights out or tramping, the lady’s at home can get bored with it (they always want to spend your money)

I very rarely get bored, so many places to see & I sometimes go a different way just to see something else or get off a motorway.
I don’t tramp but do a couple of nights out a week, I park up end of shift, have a wash, cook some dinner, watch the IPad or TV, then I’m usually asleep within a couple of hours.

RDC’s are a pain, but you can either listen to all the BS (or make some up) or bury your head into a book or iPod or wind people up on here.

Treat all other road users as Idiots, most HGV drivers are ok, but you still get the occasional Plank’, a lot will help/advise, some wouldn’t pee on you if you were on fire, you soon get used to it.

You will get wet, cold, hot, sweaty, filthy, injured & ridiculed but at the end of the day, I’ve enjoyed most of my time in the haulage industry. (30+ years)