Can you use POA when container being tipped?

Please forgive my ignorance but as I’ve never used containers before but I just applied for a job.
Is it the norm to use either break or POA whilst a container is being tipped (not by the driver, that is)?

Quackers:
Please forgive my ignorance but as I’ve never used containers before but I just applied for a job.
Is it the norm to use either break or POA whilst a container is being tipped (not by the driver, that is)?

YES - if the driver is neither driving or doing any other work then its break or poa

Thanks ROG, I presumed as much. I was just checking, knowing the intricacies (or not knowing) of the driver’s regs and WTD.
Difficult to work maximum hours on a weekly basis and not contravene the WTD without doing that I expect. :smiley:

ROG:

Quackers:

YES - if the driver is neither driving or doing any other work then its break or poa

Do you not need to know how long the duration of nothingness will last to use POA ? (theoretically at least)

Quackers:
Thanks ROG, I presumed as much. I was just checking, knowing the intricacies (or not knowing) of the driver’s regs and WTD.
Difficult to work maximum hours on a weekly basis and not contravene the WTD without doing that I expect. :smiley:

Exactly :smiley:

If you get in a 3 hour break whilst others are offloading then you can use that as part of a split (regular) daily rest and do 3 + 9

POA time must be known to use it so if you got to the drop and asked how long they are likely to take and are told at least 2 hours then I would ask if it could take 3 hours - they say yes = poa ok for 3 hours

Using break is usually the easier option but remember that any break over 45 min resets the driving hours 4.5 clock which on occasion can cause you to have an extra 15 mins driving of time break later in the shift when you do not want to

Thanks again ROG for those pointers.

ROG:

Quackers:

Rog :is that know as a running tip