Blind spot check on test

This is my first post on this forum and I would like to take this opportunity to say hello to everyone.
I have a question for all the lgv trainers, I have a couple of hours on a class 2 lorry and the instructor keeps making me check my blind spot every time I move off in traffic not only when moving off from a parked position and says that if I don’t do it in traffic aswell the examiner can fail you.
I am also a car instructor and I never had anyone fail for not checking their blind spot when for example moving off at a traffic light or in heavy traffic, now the lgv Adi says its different for lorries. Can someone clarify this for me?
Many thanks in advance.

Certainly the emphasis tends to be on moving away from the kerb but it’s best practice to check the blind spot every time the vehicle moves from stationary. No examiner will fail a candidate for missing odd ones - provided it had no direct effect. But continuous failure to check or having a negative effect on other road users because of a failure to check will constitute a serious fault.

Hope this helps, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

As usual Petes reply is spot on and needs nothing added. The main day to day reason for checking particularly the nearside before moving away from stationary at say traffic lights or a roundabout is that cyclists will often fill the gap between the truck and the kerb.

They can’t catch up when you’re moving but obviously can and do when you’re stopped. Imagine turning left at traffic lights. You will naturally leave a gap on the nearside to avoid hitting the kerb. What if the cyclist is going straight ahead from your left?

As Pete says you won’t fail if you miss the odd check but WILL fail if not checking affects another road user. Unless you check you won’t know is someone is affected or not.

Many thanks to both for the quick reply, it was just the blind spot I wasn’t sure about,the nearside mirror before turning left is a must for any type of vehicle.