Been offered 2 jobs. Looking for thoughts

So, I am still a newbie, 9 months in and done 7.5t home delivery for 6 months and then 3 months on nights doing RDC to store work. Nights not for me, so wanted a change. Sent of a flurry of applications and had 2 interviews this morning.

Gerrards of Swinton
Elis Chorley

Gerrards is tipper work. A few posts on here about them. Told me about the unpaid training, which ok, not entirely happy about that but could be useful in the long run to gain the experience. If anyones been on the dole over the past 20 years, a couple of days free training isn’t the end of the world and at least there’d be something at the end of it… right? My quick maths puts it around £27-30000 per year for 5 days.

Elis, well it’s basically cage work for hotel chains. Used to be called Berendsen. I do cage work currently so not a massive leap.

So Gerrards state they pay £105 per shift, 5am starts, 3pm finishes and then you are paid £12 per hour if you still have a load after that. Not incredible money but I’ve always wanted to do tippers and theres not many opportunities for newbies.

Elis is £12.50 per hour, flexible start times from 4-8am.

I’ve got a couple of weeks to decide, and a few more interviews lined up as well as a couple of agencies. Just want to get off nights, got 3 kids under 5 so don’t want to be sleeping all day, especially while they are off.

Anyone had experience with either, any insight into them, good or bad? Or any other tips on employers hiring for day drivers?

Perhaps it’s changed since I did it but when I started on bulk tippers in 1988 I had about 10 minutes’ training. :wink:

cage work for hotel chains. Laundry? Just think what is on/in the dirty laundry :open_mouth:

SWEDISH BLUE:
cage work for hotel chains. Laundry? Just think what is on/in the dirty laundry :open_mouth: