auto v manual

looking at a daf xf, which will be going onto site work, quarries, farms, build sites ect but as an auto box, I have no experience of these, are they any good for the work it is intended to do or shall I give it a miss?
ta

I’d give it a miss, you can’t beat your own clutch control when the going gets slippery or very close manoeuvers are called for, the on/off switch clutch in that auto pile of dung when fitted to DAF’s is a bad joke.

The 16 speed manual on the other hand is a dream of a box.

None of my business but would the CF be a more handy motor for dodging about on sites and the like, my 460 manual CF i miss, a lot, far better lorry than the badge snobs would have you believe, pulled like a good 'un.

I like dafs but the auto gearbox is shocking :frowning: :frowning: :frowning: :frowning:

seth 70:
I like dafs but the auto gearbox is shocking :frowning: :frowning: :frowning: :frowning:

This^^^ been lucky not to encounter the auto Daf that much but think the auto box has amnesia you need a gear to pull off or onto a roundabout and the box goes and makes a brew instead shocking.

We have 6 XF’s, the auto box is the worst part about them, would have thought they would be useless in off road situations.

seth 70:

This.

Trev_H:
We have 6 XF’s, the auto box is the worst part about them, would have thought they would be useless in off road situations.

& this.

manual every time got 12 cf auto hate the thing would rather have erf with eaton twin splitter but each to there own get a go with a demo loaded and empty before you spend your hard earned :slight_smile:

Manual, all the way.

thanks all!! the price may have been attractive lol now i know why

DAF autos are gash on fridge work, I dread to think what their like off road!

Now Volvo autos is a different story!

DAF autos are gash, full stop!

PaulNowak:
autos are gash, full stop!