Assessment drive while working for another company

Right guys post from a newbie here, beware :grimacing:

So I am looking at moving jobs, I have put in a couple of applications today. What if I get offered an assessment drive, how do people manage this without breaking there weekly rest ect. Obviously when your company download your card they will also know you are looking elsewhere. Has anyone else had this problem and are there any actual solutions apart from booking a days holiday!

Maybe pretend you’re a mechanic and taking it on a test drive, do they need a driver card ?

Why does it matter that your current employer knows that you’re looking elsewhere? It might just get them to look at your wages/contract and see if there’s any room for improvement…

Obviously, as a professional driver you will ensure that any in-scope driving you do fits in with the legal requirements regarding Rest etc - Won’t you?

I’m having the same issue mate.

ROG worked it out that I have two windows of an hour and a half and they probably won’t suit for assessments and getting me to work.

raymundo:
Maybe pretend you’re a mechanic and taking it on a test drive, do they need a driver card ?

That wont work I am afraid mate all driver assessments require a driver card unfortunately, unless the company is dodgy as â– â– â– â– ! lol

H4L:
I’m having the same issue mate.

ROG worked it out that I have two windows of an hour and a half and they probably won’t suit for assessments and getting me to work.

Yes you don’t have much time at all, I guess you can book a day off and that’s it. But can’t go sick due to them reading your card lmao, even though my company have not downloaded my card in 20 days! I am guessing its the companies responsibility not mine?

Roymondo:
Why does it matter that your current employer knows that you’re looking elsewhere? It might just get them to look at your wages/contract and see if there’s any room for improvement…