Apparantly, you can polish a turd!

Being that I’m a Universal Soldier adaptable to any situation (and former fitter) for the last 6 weeks apart from the odd local job I have been in the workshop at work while our full time fitter has been off due to an operation. Any hoo, I was given the task last week to tidy up, service and get a test on this…

it is a spare motor the casual drivers use and we use it for trailer MOT’s and shunting, but they want it back on the road full time.

After a week of spanner magic, cleaning, new signs and some paint on the wheels (all done by my good self) I got a test on it today and she goes into full commision on monday. I’m quite pleased with the outcome and think she looks good for a 800,000km motor.

Ain’t I a special boy !

:grimacing:

Nice one,what paint did you use on the wheels? one of the driving wheels on my drawbar has an annoying patch of rust (annoying because the rest of the wheels are pretty clean) and would like to clean it up without it looking different from the other wheels :slight_smile:

It was just a generic bright silver the local paint shop sent as we have a proper spray gun for minor paintwork and I wasn’t bothered about the match as I painted all the wheels. If you wanted a decent finish having a go yourself I’d use a silver hammerite aerosol as u will get a semi gloss finish similar to the original paint. I’ve used this to tart up the odd trailer wheel and it goes on quite thick and builds up well. The layer of paint on Scania wheels is pretty poor from the factory and they deteriorate quickly if neglected. My 57 plate has a few rust spots appearing on the welds on the drive wheels and I clean them with a bucket and sponge at least twice a month or every other wash.

Great job, you should be proud. Don’t neglected wheels look minging.

looks very good, i would love to swap that topliner for my daf.

Looks well mate, good job well done