Another bites the dust

sandy bruce of aberdeen called the recevers in this morning ,and suposidly shut there ford depot,the rumour has it that ufd are taking over the coatbridge depot to service the baxters and walkers contract,most of the drivers are still waiting to find out exactly what is going on but that is no suprise.
i chucked it 3 weeks ago cos i saw it going down i hope my mates get to stay on whoever may take them over or they find new jobs,but i have to say there is no love lost between me and the company they were not good to work for but the hours suited me so it did bring a slight smile to my face.
and before anybody has ago about it yes its sad that another haulage firm going under but believe me the management had alot to do with it, but in todays climate a haulage firm has to be on the ball ,and alot of them are not any way ive got out of the haulage game as i have had enough not for ever i hope as im a driver at heart :slight_smile:

Wow!!! That is such bad news.

I’m guessing that there will be a report in this weeks CM,which I will buy.

It seemed that no matter where you were,you would see one of SB’s trucks,and they always seemed to look smart.

My thoughts,however,go to the guys that are facing an uncertain future,and let’s hope something can be salvaged for them soon.

Ken.

Very sad to hear the demise of another established firm.Although i dont have experience of the company personally maybe they were a proffesional company trying to do a proper job for a realistic rate and as a result finished up with the old enemy cashflow problems as did two good companies i worked for in the 80s.Best of luck to the lads who may lose their jobs.

hiya, im an, as from today, ex Sandy Bruce driver, coatbridge yard will be closing, everything from there moving to Cambuslang, theres a minimum of 50 payoffs, and i agree with the aforesaid mentioned that its the managements fault things have gone to the dogs (so to speak).

Welcome aboard PBC.