Animal feeds driving

Well I am absolutely loving my week on animal feeds. This has to be the best job in driving? I love the roads, the scenery and I feel very lucky doing this. The driving through some of the places I am visiting is one I can only describe as spectacular. I have never done animal feeds before but I would simply love to do more. beats the motorway network which are my regular routes. Does anyone do this full time and if so would you ever go back to general haulage. I am getting depressed thinking about leaving this behind.

Delivering to farms, and countrywide addresses is the scenery, until you get the farm down the track just wide enough for a bike, you stop you look, you think “really down there” then ring the farmer, he says yup just bring it down, so off you trot, then meet Mrs WI coming up in her huge Nissan micra,

Enjoy and have fun, O and there will be addresses that won’t bear any resemblance to the co-pilots, old skool map be needed.

You may not love it as much in winter when spending all day on snow/ice covered untreated roads…remeber your shovel :smiley:

I did ten years on the milk. Love driving of the beaten track, and during the nights there were hardly any people around on the farms, which was a bonus. But I got sick of the farms in the end. If anybody thinks access to a factory is poor and ill thought out, or that a warehouse couldn’t be more unwelcoming to you, try going to farms. I could count on the fingers of one hand, the farms where good access was created with the drivers in mind, were a clean toilet be available, and were there would be a kettle to make a decent cup of tea. Most farmers don’t like to spend money (on upkeep and repairs) and because they live and work on a mud and ■■■■ covered farm, expect you to work in similar conditions.

I now get my fix of driving of the beaten track, on my 3 and a half days a week off… :grimacing:

biggriffin: