And another one

Is a signal necessary when passing parked cars when driving an artic.

Or is Mirrors ,position, mirrors overtake when safe ok?

The trainer on Sunday says I should always signal in the situ above even if there is a minor road on the right. He says a couple of clicks is fine. I say a couple of clicks means nothing and I may aswell not bother.

Even an artic can have a predictive position to oncomoing and following traffic.
The signal could confuse other drivers and pedestrians.

Anyway any takers?

Most of the time yes, I do 3 clicks, however you get the odd ■■■■ in a BMW that thinks your turning right and looks up the inside and gets a bit of a surprise, better that though than leaving someone who isn’t paying a great deal of attention buried in the parked vehicle! I’m guessing here but I’m surprised you have to ask didn’t you do this in a rigid?

edit ps i’m only a rigid driver,but i do see the majority of artic drivers doing the same as i

chippy:
Is a signal necessary when passing parked cars when driving an artic.

Or is Mirrors ,position, mirrors overtake when safe ok?

The trainer on Sunday says I should always signal in the situ above even if there is a minor road on the right. He says a couple of clicks is fine. I say a couple of clicks means nothing and I may aswell not bother.

Even an artic can have a predictive position to oncomoing and following traffic.
The signal could confuse other drivers and pedestrians.

Anyway any takers?

If not already in an early road position (lined up very early to pass) then yes, 3 flicks (Alert, Direct, Inform - ADI) are required - why - because you are going to change position on the road and all others behind you can see is a brick wall in front of them plus, what if a motorcycle that is hidden behind you was thinking about doing an overtake or a person in one of the parked cars was thinking about opening an o/s door :slight_smile: