Amber engine management light

I’ve been looking on the dvsa and .gov site for the official guide on driving with a engine management light on. I know you or I write a defect and report it, but I want to present something official to a superior. If anyone can find something, in writing, could they post it please? I’ve got a screen shot of what I’ve found but it doesn’t really explain it.

This

Defect sheet?

Ah, but how many…?

AFAIK it is not illegal to drive with an orange engine management light on (however if it’s related to an exhaust issue a pedantic official may disagree)

As a driver I would inform the office, if they told me to carry on I’d request that via text or e mail purely for CYA purposes. Report it, your job is complete.

Is a constant amber warning light, permanently on, a “dangerous defect” as mentioned in the screenshot? I’m trying to cover myself when asked to leave the yard with it.

Good luck driving a Daf in the rain if you don’t like yellow malfunction warnings.

Just warn them that with those warnings the next stage could very likely be limp mode and a recovery. ££££ soon gets their attention.

the nodding donkey:
Ah, but how many…?

Isn’t that…

Standard for a DAF?

MikeDBristol:
Is a constant amber warning light, permanently on, a “dangerous defect” as mentioned in the screenshot. I’m trying to cover myself when asked to leave the yard with it.

No. It’s a MOT fail but it’s not a dangerous defect.

Whatsapp your manager a picture of fault every day , put noted on ( whatever time you start at ) walk round checks , at least he / they can’t deny any knowledge of the fault
That said I had exactly the same on a 19 plate scania , defected it , parked up at garage & I was given a different motor , had issue with 23 plate daf xg & again parked up & given another motor , tris the same , if it can’t be fixed there it’s transhiped.

Thanks. Not a DAF surprisingly, a Merc. Equally sh17