Allowing clients to photocopy your license, why?

Ive began to wonder on the amount of times Ive allowed by driving license to be photocopied by total strangers. In this world of identity fraud etc have we got a bit of a relaxed attitude towards this.

Reason I ask is somebody has taken a phone contract in my name and discussing with the fraud team they asked if anybody would have been able to get/steal my identity recently by losing a wallet/passport etc. I then told them I regularly hand my license over to clients who then take a photocopy. The fraud team were a little bit bewildered with this, and maybe rightly so. We dont know the person were entrusting with personal details etc, what then happens to that copy after a shift, is it left lying around for any one to see etc■■?

So do you HAVE to let clients have a copy of your license?
Surely showing your license at the start of shift should be enough?

I’ve often thought about this as well, I’m an agency driver and have been on the same placement for 22 months continuously, but every Monday the agency drivers have to hand over their licences to be photo copied and fill in a form. I’ve asked why this has to be done every week, and am told its company policy. It’s ridiculous IMO.

Also my licence I got at the beginning of the year, is now falling apart and will have to get another one, which costs ££££££, producing my licence every week is pointless

To be honest I’ve done that, but you’re right, might be time to ask for a copy of their personal privacy policy before you give it to them?

Where’s the trust gone? They are handing over truck, trailer and load £100k plus any damage you may do before doing a runner having proof of ID isn’t too much to ask is it?

Plenty of actual cases where a guy has turned up saying he is from XYZ agency and driven off with a truck and its load never to be seen again.

There are also cases of banned drivers continuing to work because no-one has checked their license.