Agency's taken over HGV Driving

Can anyone out there tell me how the hell you are supposed to get a job as a HGV without it being through an agency?.
I have been a HGV driver for 12 years now and this year found myself having to work for an agency,i am in Huddersfield and every single job i see no matter where i look is an agency and it is just impossible to get off the agency as they seem to have completley taken over everything.
I had my ADR before and let it lapse as i was not using it and was happy where i was, i am now taking it again and i am going to look for work but again every job you see is agency.
Any ideas guys??

Door knocking smiler,the only way for me or, who you know. Good luck.

Youngs of Huddersfield are advertising for a driver.
Plenty of jobs in that area if that’s what you want.

i agree with you,where i live in swindon it is all agencies i look on the jobcentre website and all i see is agency adverts,you go on gumtree and any other site and again its agencies,i am sick and bxxxxy tired of agencies,tried phoning on the offchance and getting nowhere,so i know where you are coming from, they seem to have taken over,i think its because companies do not want the hassle of recruiting or wages and tax because its all put on the agencies when a contract is agreed,either way you cannot win

Small firms that only employ a handful of drivers are most likely not to use agencies. They’ll advertise locally for a driver. You’ll need to be local, because you’ll spend most of your meagre wages commuting if you’re not.

Large firms are attempting to shed as many full time jobs by “natural wastage” as they can, because truth be told, they don’t like the Euro-style rights that many large firms’ workforces still have, like sick pay, overtime at higher than “single time”, and paid holidays.