Abolish/Scrap the CPC Legislation

It is requested that the CPC Legislation be Abolished/Scrapped

I apologise in advance if this being my first post upsets anyone. I am trying to get as much support and publicity as possible to obtain over 100,000 signatures on this e-petition - epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/33997

I am a class 1 driver myself on containers at present and have listened to a vast majority of drivers who are not in favour of the CPC Legislation.

The training is paid for by drivers themselves, 35hours training every 5 years for the rest of your driving career (Some may be able to get the training for - what appears to be FREE ? - NVQ/CPC Course via a Training Company) but these FREE ? Courses cost the tax payer (Thats all of us) approx £1800-00 per person. So its a very profitable venture for Training providers. (Joint Approvals Unit for Periodic Training (JAUPT) not (JAUNT)

There is No Pass or Fail for the CPC, although you will get a NVQ Certificate (If you do the NVQ/CPC FREE ? Course)

So Im after some feedback from drivers. Does this CPC (Certificate of Professional Competence) improve the Industry or do you want it Abolished/Scrapped ?

13 previous e-petitions have been submitted on HM Government Website, regarding scrapping the cpc and have been rejected by the Transport Dept (3 of them what I submitted) 1 e-petition approved in favour of the cpc. I only got this e-petition approved by submitting it thru - The Leader of the House Of Commons.

So the Question is Do you Want it ? or Scrap it ?

its EU legislation, will a petition to our govt overturn their decisions :question:

I don’t want it but I think we’re stuck with it.

Not sure where the £1,800 figure comes from though, the DCPC is £350 locally. The Operator’s CPC is nearer £1,800 but that is not what a driver has to take.