A1 Roadside cafes/food vans

Hello,
I’m a researcher for True North Productions based in Leeds, and we’re currently making a second series of A1: Britain’s Longest Road.

I’m hoping to get some advice from truck drivers that frequently use the A1 regarding roadside cafes or food vans that might make a nice feature on our programme. We’re looking for any interesting characters that have a particularly interesting story, maybe they’ve been working on the A1 for several decades, or their food is so good people travel specifically to eat there.

I thought the UK’s truck drivers would be the best place to ask for opinions on this, thanks in advance for the help.

Stibbington diner…

Just north of Peterborough on the southbound side. It’s been there for many years and is one of the few truckstops open 24 hours during the week.

The food isn’t Egon Ronay standards though.

TrueNorthProductions:
Hello,
I’m a researcher for True North Productions based in Leeds, and we’re currently making a second series of A1: Britain’s Longest Road.

I’m hoping to get some advice from truck drivers that frequently use the A1 regarding roadside cafes or food vans that might make a nice feature on our programme. We’re looking for any interesting characters that have a particularly interesting story, maybe they’ve been working on the A1 for several decades, or their food is so good people travel specifically to eat there.

I thought the UK’s truck drivers would be the best place to ask for opinions on this, thanks in advance for the help.

:laughing:

The Cedar Cafe at Grantshouse, the food is that good that locals do travel there for meals.

Grizzly’s on the A1 north at biggleswade,

Chris’s buttey van at the the Cromwell halt, south bound.

The Fox at colsterworth.
Any Greggs.

There was also a chap who you would see walking along the A1, carrying his world in a couple of bags, wearing a dirty old hi-viz jacket.

TrueNorthProductions: