A few pics

Seeing Keith’s post about LAD Leylands prompted me to drag out some photos of the trucks I drove over my fifteen years as a full time driver. Looking at the quality I wish I had the cameras I use now for T&D as I’d love to have taken some better pics, but that’s life. Hope they’re of interest.

Here are the first trucks I ever drove for a living when I got my license back in 1986. The 1969 Albion was already a bit of an oldie even then, and was dead slow, thanks to its 120hp Leyland 401 motor. Years previously my dad had thought about putting the more powerful 410 turbo motor in her but decided that the brakes weren’t up to it - he was probably right! The Dodge Commando was bought secondhand as a chassis cab, having been a skip loader with Mowlem. I think my old man bought it outright for £1800, and then spent another couple of grand putting a new steel tipper body and Edbro tipping gear on it. It was fairly slow on the hills, thanks to a Perkins 6354 motor (about 140hp) but the gearing was superb with an Eaton two speed rear axle giving it 12 gears in total. Would go as fast as you wanted, but considering we stuck to local work that didn’t really matter too much. You can see another Dodge to the right: that ended up being robbed for parts to keep GAF going until the late 90’s.