41 to old to learn new career?

Hi, after a bit of advice as to a new career as a hgv driver. I currently work as a master technician for a vehicle manufacture, but as the job is very physical i am finding it harder and harder. ( i think doing the job since 16 years old is also a factor) Working in a workshop that has had no investment for years, workshop politics (the best jobs etc etc) and spending a fortune on tools…I have had enough.
I always wanted to be a lorry driver and love the look of the new trucks, so why not give it ago before its to late. I know every job is not the same as the “good old days” and everyone has had enough of there trade…but do you think it is worth a shot? I love driving, and took the family on a little drive down to Murcia in spain from midlands in the summer, although not under pressure and time constraints as a driver. Any advice would be gratefully received.

Never too old to start there are a few on here older than that when started

Passed C when 37 and C+E this year (38) so no problem - just go for it!
The other trainee with me for C+E was 60 and I was the ‘young guy’ !!

All I wil say is I was over 40 when took both test although had been driving upto 7.5t for over 10 years then

Hi Pal

I have just started training today and am 46 years young. From reading and speaking to lorry drivers about 60% of drivers are 40 plus and a lot of them for various reasons are choosing to hang up their keys. And, there’s a lack of new youngens joining the leagues of drivers.

I found this website great as well as talking to lorry driving mates of mine who all said they had done it ages ago…

You might want to find a member called ROG on here who has LGV learner tips on his signature…loads of links on there.

Good luck in your decision. for me I will be leaving a full time officce job to do this once I have my C+E after Rigid which is what I’m doing now.