Trapped and chased

hello all, i’m new to this and think this site is as good as it get’s,anyway…

the story so far, over a year ago now i was working for a nationwide builder’s merchant when i was offered a chance to train as a class 2 driver with them.i took up there offer and ahead i went with a promise of a healthy pay rise and the freedom of driving a wagon for them. i had to sign an agreement to repay the “training loan” if i ever left the job. anyway i passed then a pathetic pay rise of £200 a year and then no wagon to drive. to further the insult my brother in law took his class 2 with his employer but they used eu funding so he is not tied to his employer. i confronted my manager about his so called promise’s and he basically said “like it or lump it”,my reply was " :imp: :imp: :imp: :imp: your job then. i went straight onto another builder’s merchant doing the job i was trained to do, i’m now on 4 grand a year more and no weekend work . i’m in the process of being taken to court for the repayment of the"training loan". all i want to say is that companies with these repayment clause’s with :imp: :imp: :imp: :imp: pay are nothing else but slave labourer’s and i hope when reading this some of you don’t fall pray like me…

sorry for boring you

Was it actually a loan or a training bond? (were you expected to pay back so much a week or was it just if you left?)

I ask this cos I got my bus licence with a “bond” it was a 2 year bond, if i left before 2 years i had to pay some of the fee back.

When I left just over a year later, they made lots of threats but never took it to court. The union’s view was that these “documents” we had signed were not legally binding (there was a number of us leaving early at that time. In fact one guy i trained with refused to sign it and still got trained anyway)

Wether this situation has changed in the last few years I do not know.

It also looks like they have failed to meet their end of the agreement as well.