First time using Tacho *UPDATE 13/7/17*

Hi guys, I’m supposed to be starting my first driving shift tomorrow (class 2) for a local food delivery company on the agency. I’m just wondering what it will be like using the Tacho for the first time given that i’ve never used the card before, I’ve watched various youtube videos but none of them show a first time card entry. This is what I gather so far (by the way I start at 6am):

1. Insert card with the chip facing up and the arrow pointing forwards
  2. Give it a moment to read the card
  3. When met with a screen asking me whether I want to make a manual entry select yes with the up and down arrow then proceed to press the OK button

Now given that I haven’t used the card before do I have to input that I was on a rest period until 6am or can I go straight ahead and input other work from 6am until the time I’m now inputting this information? So:

1. Select crosshammers (other work) and press ok, proceed to change date to current date, and time to 6:00 (as that was my shift start time) and press ok to show I’ve been doing work since then because I don’t have a rest break from my last shift as it’s my first time driving
  2. Confirm with the OK button to finish the manual entry and I’m good to go

On a side note it will be chilled food so the lorry will have a fridge unit. Having never used one before will I be ok to ask the transport manager (or whoever is dealing with me) to give me a quick lesson on using it?

Also would you mention that it’s your first day driving if the company is unaware?

I’m sure you can tell how nervous I am throughout this post so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Sounds like you have got the tacho sorted, you need to show on the tacho what time you have started and at least 15mins of other work before driving to show you have done your checks.