Boss threatening to make driver pay for damages

Hi,

Sorry if I’m not posting in the right thread but as a recently qualified driver I thought this was probably the best place.

I’ve been driving class 1 for a family company for almost 5 months. I passed my test at the start of the year so as this is the first job I’ve always been very grateful for them taking me on.

Until yesterday I’ve not had any accidents, I knocked another trailer (fridge) with my own and caused a small amount of damage to both. I understand that the fridge may be costly to repair.

My employer says I’ll be paying for damages he also told me he’ll do everything possible to deny that his lorry was even involved. I’ve absolutely no contract so I assume I can’t be forced to pay for damage, or can I? I’m assuming it’ll be a case of “pay up or leave”.

Thanks.

Sorry, but this is probably going to end badly. He should simply claim on his insurance - job done. Yes, it will affect any NCB but that’s life.

If he insists that you’re paying he has 2 ways of trying to make this happen. Firstly he can just ask you for the money (what a waste of time) and, I hope, you will refuse. If he says he’s taking it out of your wages, ask him to show where you signed an authorisation for this deduction. If he takes the money out of your pay without written authorisation he is breaking the law.

If you then leave under an atmosphere of bullying, you may have a case for constructive dismissal. You wont get far with it because you have no meaningful length of service. Not my field of expertise and you should seek expert advice on this.

Sadly, you’re probably going to end up looking for another job and the bit of experience you have will help.

I have no idea what your thoughts are. An unpopular option would be to pay for the damage in order to keep your job. But do you really want to work for someone under those circumstances. I wouldn’t but I can understand how that could happen.