Whats life like?

Whats life like as an Owner Driver? Im only a student :cry: but i want to be a Truck Driver :laughing: and my dream was also to become an Owner Driver. :stuck_out_tongue:
The reason i ask ‘Whats life like’ is because the people i speak to say not to do it, becuse its getting harder, and your better off driving for someone.
I just wanted to see what some true Owner Drivers thought?
Is it worth it or should i just stick to driving for someone else.
p.s i know its a long way off but the trucking industry is all im interested in any info would be greatful.

In answer to your question, all I can say is that
I am an owner driver, of two years standing and
I LOVE IT
I admit that I was fortunate enough to pay cash for Tractor and Trailer so i do not have the worry of Repayments(replacement might be problem though ha ha)
The main bonus is that I am my OWN boss(After the wife that is)
I can afford to take a week off now and then and dont have to fit in with other peoples holiday plans
I have to watch the pennies though and undertake as much repairs and maintenence that I can myself’ within my capabilities
I could go on and on but I am sure you will receive other replies both for/against becoming an o/d
read and inwardly digest
rgds

I’ve been an O/D for 14 years and life is very good so you won’t hear me putting you of the idea. If you want to do it though you have to give it 100% and do lots of research first. Good Luck.

Hi MAD,

why couldn’t you have asked an easy question like…What is the meaning of life■■? :laughing:

If you want to earn a fortune…forget it!!!
If you want an easy life…forget it !!!
If you don’t want to do some of your own maintenance and sit up at night doing paperwork then it probably isn’t for you.

BUT

If it really is your dream to become an o/d then go for it mate :laughing:

It was for me and I did it.