Greetings, and questions a plenty!

Morning all.

My name is Mike, and I have ended up here at this forum as I am looking for advice in starting my own business.

I am a currently a tree surgeon, and have done the job for about 7 years. As time has gone by I have been looking for an exit strategy as it’s a tough game to be in, and certainly more for the younger man! We have used trucks with a crane on several times over the years to help dismantle road side trees, and I have kept a keen eye on them as it’s something that has interested me greatly.

So in a nutshell, I am wanting to retire from tree work and start my own business driving either. 26 or 32 ton truck with a crane on. Ideally it would be a beavertail, to allow me to move plant, containers etc about, but I would like to pursue the tree work side using the crane too.

I have experience driving large set ups consisting of tractors and timber trailers, but I am effectively starting out from scratch as I don’t have a HGV license.

So it’s a rather broad area I am looking for advice on as you can imagine! I have secured a farm that I can use as the base for my operators license, and found a decent looking firm locally to do my training (I am based in North Yorkshire).

My budget to get started is around the 50k mark, with scope for a little bit more if needed. So I guess I am looking for any pointers on how I get started? Things to look out for? Best place for insurance quotes etc? Best place to search for a truck? (Currently look at autotrader…)

I hope this is in the right place on the forum, and that my request for information doesn’t make the regular users groan at another newbie… :wink:

Any help greatly appreciated. I look forward to hopefully hearing from you all soon.

Cheers.

Ps. Should have elaborated slightly… my 50k budget is for everything! Buying the truck, getting my license, training etc, paying for first years yard space, first years insurance, tax, etc, getting website and marketing done…