Container network understanding

Hi
I have some experience on the driving side of container haulage, but have very little on the office side, can any one shed some light on this please. I understand that unlike curtain work, you can’t reload say A Ltd container with goods for B Ltd etc…
Any help would be welcome

Some containers are owned by the shipping lines some are leased.

As far as I am aware there are no cabotage laws for containers. A lot of containers are leased through the shipping line, so I guess Maersk wouldn’t be overly keen if you back loaded their container for Evergreen etc… but its more an operational/commercial decision, not a legal thing. Also certain boxes will be allocated to certain traffic streams, so the line may not want their far east container return loaded with product for say West Africa, South Africa etc…

we are currently subbing for a local haulier, we are now in a position to start finding our own work and before we make a discussion about which way to go, im trying to get a feel and a understanding of all avenues… i.e. with curtain work if my wagon is on it way to say … Liverpool and would ring around and see if there was a load to come back… but with containers it different, sat evergreen ask for a delivery from SCT to Birmingham but I have a job from Birmingham to TCT for Samskip, how does the containers work then?? who pays the lifting fee at the container storage yards? how do the shipping lines get you the work details? email, internal computer system etc?

You would deliver the container to B’ham then take it where you’re told by the line. You might be able to get the empty lifted at an inland port if it’s not for reload. Then you would have to collect an empty for Samskip (from wherever that may be) and take that to the loading point.

Thank you for the help. Had a guy from here call me and explain the in’s and outs. Thank you